RSS

WIP Wednesday – Holiday Project

13 Nov

I love the kits from FreshStitches.  I love that there is everything you need in one little bag (except for the stuffing).  This makes it perfect to take on holiday since you don’t have to carry around multiple balls of yarn for a project.

Nelson the Owl kit on Maraetai beach

I just got back from a week-long holiday in Auckland yesterday.  It was fantastic to get away after a very busy semester at University and lets not even talk about the exams other than I am pleased they are over with for the year.  I decided to take the Nelson the Owl kit with me.  I knew I wouldn’t get much time to work on it but I did get a few rounds done sitting next to one of my favourite beaches (near Maraetai).  I am suffering a little bit now with sunburn but it was worth it.  I have taken heaps of photos so expect to see them in a future post when I get a chance to sort through them all.

WIP Wednesday

A week was not long enough, I am already saving to go back next year!  Must remember to put more sunscreen on next year.

What has everyone been working on lately?  Check out Tami’s Amis Blog to get inspired.

Thanks for stopping by.  Be sure to come back on Friday to see a long-awaited FO!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in Amigurumi, Crochet, WIP Wednesday

 

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday – Holiday Project

  1. Heather

    November 14, 2013 at 1:33 am

    That does sound like a great idea, everything all together. Pretty colors too!

     
    • rastastitches

      November 14, 2013 at 11:18 am

      The owl colours a different from the pattern picture. It is grey with blue eyes. I am really liking the combination so far. If I didn’t take the kit I would have had to take 4 different balls of yarn with me which would take up a lot more space in the suitcase.

       
  2. whatzitknitz

    November 14, 2013 at 6:49 am

    I bought one of her classes on Craftsy. and I don’t even crochet but I am thinking she makes it look so simple that even I could crochet a toy or two with her.

     
    • rastastitches

      November 14, 2013 at 11:13 am

      You can definitely do it! If you are just starting out with crochet I would recommend the Freshstitches Craftsy classes, I learned a lot of tips from them. I learned how to crochet mostly from the PlanetJune tutorials. Both of them are fantastic in my opinion. 2 different styles but great for a beginner. Just start with a small and simple project first.

       

Leave a Reply

