RSS

FO Friday – Green + Tipper = Gripper

02 Aug

Where did this last week go?

I haven’t quite finished the Gecko yet, but I do have a FO to show you that has a bit of a story behind it.

I signed up to the FreshStitches Kit Club last year with the first shipment was sent mid December 2012.  Usually shipping from the US to New Zealand takes about a week.  With the Christmas post I figured it would take a bit longer to arrive.  Mid January arrives and still no package so I figured it was lost in the postal system somewhere.

The second shipment of the kit club was sent mid February, 1 week later it arrives in my mailbox.  But look what turned up the following week

Kit Club 1 Box

That’s right.  It’s the first kit club shipment.  It only took 2 months and a week!!  Looks pretty good for a box that spent so much time in the postal system.  I really wish it could talk and say where it when.  I figure there are 2 possibilities.  First, the New Zealand written on the box was not seen and it went to Christchurch, England, instead before being redirected to the correct country.  The second possibilities is that the air mail stamp was not seen and it came by boat across the Pacific Ocean!

I like the second possibility because the kit was for this guy

Green Tipper the Crab

The Pacific Ocean is a long swim for a little crab.  The beads on Tipper the Crab were the special treat in the kit.  I think the real treat was getting to use 100% wool when usually I use acrylic because that is all I can get with a decent variety of colours.  I can’t wait to make more of these tiny crabs.  Maybe without the beads next time.

FO FridayThat is all from me today.  I hope you all have a great weekend.

If you get a chance check out Tami’s Amis Blog to see what others have been doing.  You never know, you might find your next project.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in Amigurumi, Crochet, FO Friday

 

14 responses to “FO Friday – Green + Tipper = Gripper

  1. Reading Bliss

    August 2, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Hehe – cute! Both the story and the frog!

     
  2. SusanD1408 crochet addict

    August 2, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Wow that parcel did take a long time to get there. At least it got to you in the end. Your little crab is ever so cute!

     
    • rastastitches

      August 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      Thank you. It did take a long time, I had given up hope of it ever arriving.

       
  3. thesoaringsheep

    August 2, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    Aw isn’t he lovely! And kind of fitting the idea that he might have had to travel across the ocean to get to you 🙂

     
    • rastastitches

      August 3, 2013 at 12:27 am

      Thank you. That is why I like the idea of him swimming so far.

       
  4. Christina - a Babys Smile Knits

    August 3, 2013 at 1:07 am

    what a little cutie! I too wonder where parcels go to sometimes, glad it arrived

     
    • rastastitches

      August 3, 2013 at 11:48 am

      Thank you. The mysteries of the postal system. Something I will never figure out.

       
  5. Minding My Own Stitches

    August 3, 2013 at 3:57 am

    I love the story! And he’s a darling little frog too. How nice to have a new yarn treat at the same time 🙂

     
    • rastastitches

      August 3, 2013 at 11:51 am

      Thank you. The green colour does make him look like a frog (your not the first person to say that), it was the colour that came in the kit. I am sure there must be green crabs somewhere in the world.

       
  6. katie metzroth

    August 4, 2013 at 1:49 am

    he’s super cute! 🙂

     
  7. Natasja (CrochetPlush)

    August 6, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Your Tipper is lovely! My package arrive fairly quickly, but I still haven’t made him… Really should put him on my to-do-soon list 😉

     
    • rastastitches

      August 6, 2013 at 9:03 am

      Thank you. I still haven’t started the other 2 kits from the club, my to do list is really long!

       

Leave a Reply

