RSS

FO Friday – Red Panda

12 Jul

It’s Friday!! I am still working on the final piece of the Amber Mystery CAL by FreshStitches.  Still no spoilers from me, I haven’t peeked at the final photo!  I don’t know how much longer my willpower will last!

I thought it was about time I showed you a PlanetJune design.  Every year I make my mother something for her birthday and this year it was a Red Panda.

Red Panda

This pattern was a PlanetJune Commission where you can pledge towards a pattern design.  Once the design is fully pledged, the animal joins the design queue behind the other animals that have been fully pledged for.  There have been some really great patterns that have been created through the commission process.

Red Panda

There are a few colour changes on the face of this guy but the end result is well worth the effort.  What would a Red Panda be without the face markings?

Red Panda

This is one of the Red Pandas at Auckland Zoo. Check out those facial markings!   Don’t let the colour changes put you off making him – the colour changes on the face are only on a few rounds and they are over before you know it.

Red Panda

For the colour changes on the tail I used June’s Perfect Stripes Tutorial.  Of the 2 methods (Invisible Join and No-Cut Join) I used the no-cut join.  As with any new technique it was a bit difficult to follow at first but by the end of the tail it was a lot easier and I really liked that there was no jog in the colour changes.  I brushed the tail to make it fuzzy which probably would have hidden any staggers in the stripes but it was fun to practice.  I also brushed the white parts of the ears to look more like a Red Panda.

FO FridayThat is all from me this week.  I am going to get back to the Mystery CAL before my willpower disappears and I look ahead to see what it is.

Be sure to check out Tami’s Amis Blog for more finished objects.

Have a great weekend.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2013 in Amigurumi, Crochet, FO Friday

 

4 responses to “FO Friday – Red Panda

  1. elisabeth andrée

    July 12, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    Your red panda is a cutie, it’s tail is fab. Well done to you:)

     
    • rastastitches

      July 13, 2013 at 12:24 am

      Thank you. I am really pleased with how the tail turned out.

       
  2. Minding My Own Stitches

    July 13, 2013 at 3:44 am

    You know, I’ve never heard of or seen a Red Panda before! Thanks for the education 🙂 He sure is cute!

     
    • rastastitches

      July 13, 2013 at 8:24 pm

      I am pleased that I could help you learn something new. They really are a cute animal.

       

Leave a Reply

