RSS

WIP Wednesday – Amber Mystery CAL

10 Jul

Happy Wednesday everyone.

I have been working on the Amber Mystery CAL by FreshStitches for the last few weeks. I have finished clue 1 and clue 2 just in time for clue 3 which was released this morning but I have not started it yet.

Amber Clue1

Clue 2 had a strange piece that used short rows (Piece K at the front of the photo).  I never knew you could do short rows in crochet!  You learn something new everyday.

Amber Clue2I used this FreshStitches tutorial to crochet the rows backwards instead of turning the piece – basically you use your left hand to crochet the stitches instead of using your normal right hand (if you crochet with your left hand normally you would use your right hand).  It was very awkward at first but I think the result is OK.

Now I just have the 1 remaining piece to do from Clue 3 and then the assembly!  I have been very good today and not looked at the end of the clue 3 document to see what the animal is.  So I can’t tell you what it is.

WIP WednesdayI doubt I will have the whole animal assembled by Friday, if you are participating in the Amber Mystery CAL you wont get any spoilers from me.

I am going to go and make a start on the final piece of the mystery.  Be sure to check out Tami’s Amis Blog to see what other people are working on.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Amigurumi, Crochet, WIP Wednesday

 

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday – Amber Mystery CAL

  1. Heather

    July 10, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    Good for you not looking! I am not sure I could do that 🙂 I feel like I need to know what the project is supposed to look like while I am making it (so I can continuously fix all of my mistakes!).

     
    • rastastitches

      July 10, 2013 at 11:07 pm

      It has been a test of my willpower not to look. My view on mistakes is that they add to the character of the animal and makes it unique. If I am working on something I am going to wear I worry about them then. Only you know the pattern was not written that way 🙂

       
  2. Minding My Own Stitches

    July 11, 2013 at 12:48 am

    I’m still entirely perplexed as to how it’s going to come together. I guess I’ll have to check in to see. Crocheting with your left hand sounds hard – I’m really strongly right-handed and I think I’d struggle!

     
    • rastastitches

      July 11, 2013 at 8:41 am

      My right hand is definitely my dominant hand but thankfully there were only a few stitches on each row where I used my left hand. I wouldn’t want do a whole piece that way!

       

Leave a Reply

