RSS

FO Friday – A Late Christmas Present

11 Jan

Yay it is Friday!!  I am very pleased that it is the weekend tomorrow.  It has been a very long week at work this week so I have only been able to finish 1 project

As I promised on Wednesday, here is version 3.1 of the mug cozy I made for my grandmother for Christmas.  I finally gave it to her 12 days after Christmas!  Better late and safe than never.

Mug Cozy FO1

This is a vast improvement from what I initially made.  I changed the buttons and used single crochet stitches instead of double crochet stitches.  It took me a few more attempts to actually get the right size.  I was going to slip stitch around the edges but this pulled them too tight.

Mug Cozy FO2

I had to shape the cozy to fit around the curves of the mug.  If you want to make one I would suggest trying to find a straight sided mug.  I tried but couldn’t find one, now they are the only shape that I see!!

Mug Cozy FO3

I found a great link to a blog post that suggested to use a piece of those rubber non slip tray mats to stop your mug cozy slipping down the mug.  I thought I would try it and I can say that IT WORKS!! Before giving to my grandmother I tested it by filling the mug with hot water and nothing moved.

I also thought I would do a little experiment to see how long the water would stay hot.  I started with boiling from the jug (100°C – I didn’t measure this so i am not sure how hot the jug boils water) to 40° 1 hour later.  I didn’t test the mug without the cozy (very bad scientist) but I usually wait until my cup of tea is cool before drinking and I don’t wait this long.  My grandmother said it kept her cup of tea hotter for longer so I guess she is happy.

FO FridayThat is the only thing I finished this week.  Hopefully I can get some more crafting done now I wont be working so much during the week.

Until next time, check out Tami’s Ami Blog for links to see what other people have been finishing up.  Each week I add to my list of things I want to make after seeing other people’s projects.

Enjoy the rest of your Friday.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Crochet, FO Friday

 

11 responses to “FO Friday – A Late Christmas Present

  1. Nancy

    January 12, 2013 at 1:32 am

    A brilliant idea! Bet your granny loved it. A sweet, pink surprise!

    Visiting from Tami…

     
    • rastastitches

      January 12, 2013 at 10:10 am

      Thanks, my grandmother loves the colour pink which is why I picked it. It would not have been my first choice but it wasn’t for me.

       
  2. Regula

    January 12, 2013 at 2:58 am

    My list gets longer too. 🙂

     
    • rastastitches

      January 12, 2013 at 10:11 am

      Pleased to see that I am not the only one 🙂

       
  3. Minding My Own Stitches

    January 12, 2013 at 5:54 am

    You know, I’ve often wondered about the point of the mug cozies. Silly me I thought it was to sop up spills and keep your fingers from burning on a hot cup. But, it makes sense that it keeps the beverage warm for a longer period of time, so maybe I’d better jump in. I’m terrible for letting the bottom half of my coffees get cold! That non-slip rubber lining is fantastic idea. Thanks for the tip!

     
    • rastastitches

      January 12, 2013 at 10:14 am

      I originally made one to fit my mother’s takeaway coffee cup so she didn’t burn her hand. She discovered it kept the drink hot when she had too wait longer to drink her coffee. It’s an added bonus!
      I can’t take credit for the idea of the non slip mat but I am going to spread the idea because it is so good. You could probably get away with a thinner strip around the top of the cozy instead of covering the whole back.

       
  4. Michelle

    January 12, 2013 at 5:59 am

    My eyes got the better of me, and for a moment, I thought this post was titled, A Latte Christmas present… HAHAHA. Maybe I just need to go get more coffee while I’m bouncing around blogs.

    The cozy is very cute.

     
    • rastastitches

      January 12, 2013 at 10:18 am

      I think that is a sign you need more caffeine. When you start seeing coffee related words I think your brain is telling you something.

       
  5. Lisa

    January 12, 2013 at 6:10 am

    I may have to make one of these. I always forget about my cup of tea, and when I finally go to drink it, it is cold.

     
    • rastastitches

      January 12, 2013 at 10:22 am

      I made one to fit my takeaway coffee cup for this reason. It won’t keep it hot forever but it should work for a while.

       
  6. Oh Sew Tempting

    January 13, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Hi, Thank you for writing a lovely blog. I have nominated you for “The Very Inspiring Blogger” award. You are under no obligation to accept at all and there is no need to tell me your decision. If you wish to accept, the rules are in my post here:
    http://ohsewtempting.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/a-new-award/
    Have a lovely day, Avis x

     

Leave a Reply

