RSS

FO Friday – Christmas Gifts

28 Dec

Welcome the Christmas Gift edition of FO Friday.  As I promised on Wednesday there would be photos so here they are!

Cat Bookmark

My mother loves ginger cats.  When she said the other day that she wanted to get a ginger cat but not until the current cat is no longer with us (he likes being the only cat in the house) I had the great idea to make her a ginger cat so she could have both.  I wanted something quick to make – I only started on the Thursday before Christmas – so I thought a bookmark would be a good idea. I found this pattern and I fell in love with the little feet, especially the back paws.

Cat Bookmark

The pattern said to would take some hours to knit.  I think my idea of some hours is very different to the patterns designer, it took me about 12-13 hours from Thursday 20th to 3:30am Christmas Day morning.  I am pleased with the results but when I make this again I will be making the head in the round.  It took about 2 hours for me to get about 2 rows of the head done, the stitches kept falling off the needles.  I was starting the head at about 11:30pm on Christmas Eve so that might have had something to do with it and the fact you need to increase very quickly and I struggled to move the needles.

Despite the issues I had, I really enjoyed knitting this little guy.  I will definitely be making another one eventually for myself.

Coffee Cup Mug Cozy 1.0

As I mentioned on Wednesday I made my grandmother a mug cozy that really did not turn out as I intended.  It doesn’t look too bad in the photo but you can see how the button pulls at the fabric, it is worse when you pick up the cup.

Mug Cozy version 1.0

I have already frogged this version and started again.  I haven’t finished it yet but I am making progress.  I found this really great idea to make the cozy ‘stick’ to the sides of the cup.  It is so cleaver and simple, I really hope it works.  I will let you know next week.

Cat Toy

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned I was going to make a pom-pom toy for my cat for Christmas.  I really didn’t like the pom-pom loom that I found in the craft store (I really want to get one of those Clover Pom-Pom makers but I can’t find them here so need to order online).  Anyway, I decided to make something else for the cat.  I did a pattern search on Ravelry (one reason I love Ravelry) and came across a Swirly Mice Toys pattern which looked like it would be really quick and easy.

Cat Toy

It only took about 10 minutes to make at 3:30am Christmas morning.  I couldn’t really move my hand after finishing the Cat bookmark but I still managed to make the cat toy really quickly.  It was fun to make but the cat was not so fussed about it.  He has not played with it until tonight when I turned it around and waved the tail in front of him and he went crazy.  The “right” way around he could not care less.  I did not need to bother about making it and should have just taken a length of yarn and giving it to him!  The mouse bit it nice to hold in your hand.

FOfridayThat is it for me this FO Friday.  I need to go and start a few more projects! or finish all the WIP’s that I have not touched.

Be sure to check out Tami’s Ami Blog to see what everyone else has been finishing this week.  This is probably my last post for the year so have a good weekend and a Happy New Year.  See you all next year 🙂

 
22 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2012 in Crochet, FO Friday, Knitting

 

22 responses to “FO Friday – Christmas Gifts

  1. Regula

    December 29, 2012 at 12:43 am

    Your bookmark cat makes me smile. So sweet! Have a nice day. Regula

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 1:39 am

      It makes me smile too. I kept stealing it on Christmas Day because it was so cute and the real cat was in hiding. I need to make myself one.

       
      • Regula

        December 29, 2012 at 2:07 am

        Yes, that’s how it is. We always make things for others, don’t we? 🙂

         
  2. Carmela Biscuit

    December 29, 2012 at 1:11 am

    This is the cutest bookmark ever! I love your ginger cat 🙂

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 1:36 am

      Thanks. I really want to make one for myself. When I do make one I won’t be doing an all night crafting session (well a half night). I am thinking I will make a tabby one.

       
  3. lagrancostanza

    December 29, 2012 at 1:25 am

    The bookmark cat is really cute. And I love the colour on the mug cazy, too bad it didn’t turn out as intended!

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 1:34 am

      Thanks. My grandmother loves pink (the cup is a navy blue which did not photograph well). I am hoping my second attempt will work. Serves me right for trying to get it make quickly and taking some shortcuts.

       
  4. Gracey

    December 29, 2012 at 2:21 am

    That cat bookmark is awesome! Love it! Sorry it make your hands hurt…and well cats are like that..finicky about things, disinterested in what you might find interesting..

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 10:05 am

      This cat is usually like that with his food. He goes crazy over any toy that is red but not this time.
      The bookmark is knit on a very tight gauge and it was the M1 increases on the top of the head that were the hand killer. Totally worth it!

       
  5. Minding My Own Stitches

    December 29, 2012 at 3:05 am

    What a great little bookmark. I’m tempted to add it to my queue, although I’m not sure I’d manage it even in 12-13 hours 🙂

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

      I knit slowly because I have not done much knitting before. Everything is worked flat with only a few stitches each row so it does knit up very quickly, just not how long I was expecting (I don’t know what I was thinking). This is one you should add to your queue!

       
  6. Michelle

    December 29, 2012 at 5:02 am

    The cat bookmark is very, very cute! Totally worth the ‘some hours’ it took to knit. 😀

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 10:12 am

      Thanks. Yes it was totally worth the time and effort to knit. I really love how he turned out.

       
  7. Ginny Sturdy

    December 29, 2012 at 5:46 am

    Your cat bookmark is really cute, even if it took such a long time.

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 10:14 am

      Thanks. It may take someone who can knit faster less time. I should have thought about it earlier and not started with less than a week before Christmas!

       
  8. Oh Sew Tempting

    December 29, 2012 at 6:40 am

    I know someone who loves cats and collects bookmarks!!! I’m off to buy the pattern. It’s lovely. Thanks for sharing the link 🙂 Avis x

     
    • rastastitches

      December 29, 2012 at 10:18 am

      I don’t think you can go wrong with this pattern. That will love it! I am glad I could help you find the pattern.

       
      • Oh Sew Tempting

        December 29, 2012 at 10:50 am

        Got the pattern really fast and I’ve already knit the body. Just the head now 🙂 Thanks again 😀 Avis x

         
      • rastastitches

        December 29, 2012 at 10:56 am

        Wow that is quick. Both to get the pattern and the knitting!

         
      • Oh Sew Tempting

        December 29, 2012 at 12:08 pm

        Ready to make up now (I don’t enjoy that bit) 😉 I do knit quite fast but I will have to finish in the morning. Mine is baby blue and cream. x

         
  9. IsabelJazmín Ángeles (@JazzBruno)

    December 30, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Nice projects! My favorite is the bookrmark!

    Happy Holidays!

     
    • rastastitches

      December 30, 2012 at 11:56 am

      Thanks. The bookmark is my favourite too.

       

Leave a Reply

