RSS

WIP Wednesday – A Quiet Day

26 Dec

I have good news and bad news today.  The good news is that I finished all of the Christmas presents I had to make.  I finished the last stitch at about 3:30am Christmas morning – I felt like one of Santa’s elves working like mad in the workshop.

The bad news is that I don’t have any WIP’s to show you this week.  I haven’t been able to hold a crochet hook or knitting needle for any length of time since what felt like a marathon on Christmas Eve.  I will have photos of everything on FO Friday this week so be sure to stop by then.

Gift Redo

I made my grandmother a mug cozy to fit a coffee cup that I found for her for Christmas.  The cup had a handle so I had to improvise a design to fit around it.  I looked at a few patterns on Ravelry so I had an idea of what to do but I failed miserably.  I did give her the cup (with the horribly ill-fitting cozy) but I told her that I am going to redo it so it will actually stay on the cup.

Today I frogged version 1 and spent the day trying to think up a way to fix the problem – that’s a WIP right?  I usually knit the mug cozies but I thought it would be quicker to crochet one for her, I was very wrong.

There were several issues I had that I need to find a solution for;

  1. The cup has curved sides so I need to increase to fit the shape.  I did this in version 1 but not very well.  I should have got a cup with straight sides!
  2. I used a button as a closure with a flap going through the handle but the button is really heavy (once attached) and it pulls the cozy off the cup! This is not good when you go to put the cup down and half the cozy is not under the base of the cup.
  3. A coffee cup is hot (obviously) so each time the cup is used the cozy is basically being blocked and it stretched a lot.  I knew this would happen from the other coffee cozies I have made but I didn’t factor this in as I was making it.

I am going to try to make the second version by Friday so I can give her back her present sooner rather than later.

WIP WednesdaySorry for the very wordy post and the lack of photos, I will try to make it up to you on FO Friday.

Until then, head over to Tami’s Amis Blog to see what other people have been getting up to this week.  Hopefully there will be photos 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2012 in WIP Wednesday

 

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday – A Quiet Day

  1. Gracey

    December 27, 2012 at 3:45 am

    Sorry for your hands…and hopefully you can figure out the cozy issue….

     
    • rastastitches

      December 27, 2012 at 8:22 am

      Thanks. At the moment my hand is ok, I hope it still will be ok after work today with a whole day of typing!

       
  2. Renee Anne

    December 27, 2012 at 3:58 am

    I always feel weird when I don’t have any WIPs…which is probably why I usually have six or seven going at once (right now, I only have 3).

     
    • rastastitches

      December 27, 2012 at 8:20 am

      Only 3, you need to start some more projects! I do have a few more WIPs that have been hibernating while I finish everything else. I usually have a lot of WIPs on the go but this week was about finishing.

       

Leave a Reply

