RSS

FO Friday – Can We Postpone Christmas?

21 Dec

I am sure I am not alone in wanting to postpone Christmas just so I have some more time to finish the last-minute gifts.  I was hoping to have finished a few more items before today but it seems time is moving too fast this week!

Candy Canes

I showed you a pile of candy cane pieces on Wednesday which I was making for the PlanetJune Christmas CAL on Ravelry.  I actually managed to stitch them all together today.  In the end I made 5 and I don’t think I will make any more, well I have finished everything else first.

Candy Canes

These are about 8cm long (the tree is very small).  I love this Candy Cane pattern.  They are really quick to make, it only took just over half an hour to sew up the remaining 4 candy canes today.  You never know I might have time to make some more.

Coffee Cozy

I originally made a mug cozy for my mum so she didn’t burn her hand when she got a takeaway coffee.  Not only did it protect her hand it also hade the added bonus of keeping the coffee hot for longer (I know this from experience, I forgot about my coffee for 45 minutes and the coffee was still a drinkable temperature).  I made this coffee cozy as a Christmas gift for the lady I work with.  I improvised the basic pattern shape to fit a standard coffee cup.  The stitch pattern is based on the Honey Cowl with I really wanted to make but didn’t want to make another cowl/scarf.

I really like how it turned out.  I need to make one of these for myself!

FOfridayWell I need to get back to finishing the other Christmas gifts before I run out of time.  I hope you all are more prepared for Christmas than I am!

If you have some spare time, head over to Tami’s Amis Blog to see what other people have finished up this week.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2012 in Crochet, FO Friday, Knitting

 

6 responses to “FO Friday – Can We Postpone Christmas?

  1. chrisknitsb

    December 22, 2012 at 1:46 am

    Love the coffee cup sleeve. The color even looks like coffee!

     
    • rastastitches

      December 22, 2012 at 1:51 am

      Thanks. It is a mid grey colour and very difficult to get to photograph to show the true colour.

       
  2. Nancy

    December 22, 2012 at 2:08 am

    No Christmas cannot be postponed :o) Looks like you have some nice canes and mug cozies, so you really don’t need to worry. Visiting through Tami!

     
    • rastastitches

      December 22, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Thanks. The two people I will be seeing on Christmas Day are the two gifts that I have not finished, one I haven’t started yet!

       
  3. Minding My Own Stitches

    December 22, 2012 at 3:28 am

    The candy canes are cute. I’d be interested in your coffee cup cozy pattern if you felt like sharing. It really looks like it fits the cup perfectly. I’m always finding my coffee cold from drinking it quickly enough, so a cozy might be just the thing. Merry Christmas!

     
    • rastastitches

      December 22, 2012 at 9:33 am

      I am still working out some of the kinks with the pattern, after that you never know. This was the first one I knit in the round and it seems tighter that the other ones, I am not sure if it the stitch pattern or it being in the round?

       

Leave a Reply

